Small Victories: Rain and Seed Germination

Today
by Mary Oliver

Today is a day of
dark clouds and slow rain.
The little blades of corn
are so happy.

It’s been raining off and on for the past few days here and I’m finally seeing some germination in the areas I direct seeded! It’s very exciting to see things popping up because I was a little bit afraid that a whole third of my garden was going to be left bare!It’s so funny how perspective can change: rain as a nuisance, rain as an inconvenience, rain as a necessity.

I know I’m a little late in the season with some of these (especially the peas and komatsuna), but considering that my garden is partially shaded and that it’s been a cool summer so far I am feeling hopeful.

Squash seedling

Squash seedling

peas

Mammoth melting snow peas

komatsuna

Komatsuna seedlings

Leave a Reply

