My Garden in July: To Do List and Resources

IMG_20140705_125643_407[1]

So I just finished trellising my tomatoes. There are tons of flowers and some green tomatoes already and the plants are getting huge so I’m pretty excited! My basil plants are getting big, too. Fresh tomatoes and basil is probably one of my favorite combinations. I’m pretty excited about my green beans, too, they are almost large enough to harvest!

IMG_20140705_125010_082[1]

The lemon balm has really started to pop up everywhere, even in the shady areas! Here’s what else will be happening in my garden this month:

1) Harvest to eat fresh (along with recipes I hope to try!)

2) Harvest oregano to preserve

3) Continue researching organic agriculture methods

  • Integrated Pest Management
  • Hydroponics/Aquaponics
  • Vermiculture
  • No-dig methods
  • More on permaculture
  • More on no-till methods (I’ve already written about it once)
  • I’ve already researched and written about biodynamic agriculture

Do you have any other organic agriculture methods that I should look into?

3 thoughts on “My Garden in July: To Do List and Resources

  1. Look up “Lecture on Restoration Agriculture” on YouTube. Mark Shepard, the guy who coined the phrase, is a bitterly honest at times, but I think his overall idea of agriculture makes a lot more sense than the methods in use today, even organic farms. He advocates “no work” systems” (paraphrasing here) where you plant things once, where they will thrive naturally. If it doesn’t work, he doesn’t waste time trying to force it to work… he just moves on to the next plant.

    I’ve noticed the very same thing in my own backyard food garden. The things that live and thrive naturally in my area (raspberries, blueberries, apples, grapes, and a bunch of other perennials) need no assistance from me to produce bags and bags of fruit. My annual square foot garden, however, needs constant attention… weeds gotta be pulled, plants require additional water and fertilizer, pests have to be dealt with. As much as I like annual crops, I’m beginning to think perennial crops give you a lot more value for a lot less work. The main downside is they usually take a lot more time to develop for a harvest. Some of us–myself included–are lucky enough to own a piece of land we can use to “wait it out” for these wonderful plants to produce a bounty of food. I will personally continue to grow both annuals and perennial fruits and vegetables, though. There’s benefits that come from growing each of them.

    I’ve read a few posts via reddit and I like your site and what you are trying to accomplish. I’m kind of trying to do the same thing with my small piece of suburban property in the Appalachian mountains. My blog is http://dowdominion.blogspot.com/ if you’d like to check it out, share information & pictures, ect. It’s not a strictly gardening-homestead-permaculture kind of blog, as I discuss just about anything that I find interesting, but a majority of it is about my progress towards self-sufficiency.

    Thanks for the post. Have a great day.

    • Thanks for your comment! I will definitely look up that clip, I haven’t heard of restoration agriculture before.

      I definitely want to integrate more local species into my garden as I am able, but as you mentioned, annual crops can often be a quicker return on investment. I’ll definitely check your blog out, I’m always looking for more people to learn from and with!

Leave a Reply

