Homestead Goals for 2015

So, as it always seems to happen, I didn’t get as many things done around my home as I wanted to last year. It’s pretty tiring to work on a farm then come home and work on growing things in my own yard, but I think I have a better sense of my priorities and what needs to happen throughout the season this year.

Let’s start with what I learned this past year. I think it’s important to take inventory of these things every so often, otherwise it’s easy to keep making the same mistakes over and over. Here are some of the things I learned in 2014:

  1. I need to have intentional structure in my life or I am not productive with my time
  2. I am easily distracted and I need to work on my mindfulness
  3. I can take care of nearly all of my home cleaning needs with just a few ingredients: castile soap, baking soda, lemon juice, white vinegar, essential oils
  4. I love essential oils for almost every purpose
  5. Most of my yard is much more shady than I originally anticipated
  6. I often need to try things twice to get them right, but I learn from my mistakes

My most general goal for this year is to have more dense vegetation in my garden areas then I had last year. The shadiest parts of my yard were very sparsely vegetated last year. My more specific goals are a little on the ambitious side, but here they are:

  1. Vegetate area around black walnut stump: black raspberry, wild ginger, and wild onions
  2. Install wild strawberry, wild geranium, and amaranth further from black walnut
  3. Build a clothesline
  4. Set up trellis and container gardening system along the sunny side of the driveway (with some typical food species such as tomatoes, cucumbers, bell and hot peppers, lettuce)
  5. Acquire and inoculate a log with shiitake mushrooms
  6. Start vermicomposting
  7. Start making my own kombucha
  8. Get a better root cellar system set up in my basement (with more permanent boxes and sawdust)
  9. Learn how to make sourdough bread (and make my own starter)

So what goals do you have this year?

Leave a Reply

