Homestead goals: Update

Hey folks. I know that I haven’t posted in a while, this season has been so busy. But I just wanted to give you all an update on how my  2015 homesteading goals have been going so far.

 raspberry plant 


1. Vegetate area around black walnut stump: black raspberry, wild ginger, and wild onions

So far this has been going alright. The wild ginger is a little slow to germinate, but I’m hoping that I will still get it started before the end of the season. The black raspberry plants that I transplanted from my mother in law’s yard have been doing great and are really filling in that area pretty well!

 strawberry plant 
2. Install wild strawberry, wild geranium, and amaranth further from black walnut

I had a bit of trouble with pests and my strawberry plants, but I have one big plant that has been doing pretty well. The best thing about wild strawberry is that it spreads like crazy, so I’m hoping that by the end of the season I will have decent cover from my strawberry plants. The geranium and amaranth have been slow to start from seed, but I’m still working on it.

3. Build a clothesline

I haven’t gotten to this project yet, but I’m hoping to get it done this month!

   

   
4. Set up trellis and container gardening system along the sunny side of the driveway (with some typical food species such as tomatoes, cucumbers, bell and hot peppers, lettuce)

My container garden has been going really well! I have tons of green tomatoes, and they are finally starting to ripen. My zucchini plants are producing pretty well, and there are lots of tiny peppers on my pepper plants.

5. Acquire and inoculate a log with shiitake mushrooms

I may have to put this goal off until next year, timing is essential for starting mushrooms so I think this is going to have to wait.

6. Start vermicomposting

I am ordering worms in the next week or two, so I’m on my way with this goal!

  
7. Start making my own kombucha

I am currently starting my fourth batch of kombucha! My first batch came out pretty well, although it was a little weak. I’ve been waiting for at least 11 days for the last couple of batches and it’s been delicious. I’m already up to two gallons at a time!

8. Get a better root cellar system set up in my basement (with more permanent boxes and sawdust)

I have a couple of months before I really have to get this done, so I haven’t gotten started yet.

9. Learn how to make sourdough bread (and make my own starter)

This is another goal that I’ve been putting off until the cooler, less busy months. I’ve also recently gone paleo, so I’m not sure if I’m still going to go through with this goal. Sourdough bread is a lot healthier than most bread, but I generally feel so much better grain-free that I’m considering nixing this goal entirely.

How are you doing with your goals so far this year?

3 thoughts on “Homestead goals: Update

  1. Pingback: Homestead goals: Update | living on a green thumb | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  2. Your container garden looks great!! It’s not paleo, but I used a recipe for a gluten free (brown rice flour) sourdough starter that included recipes for pizza crust & bagels, and it worked really well. If you’re ever interested, I’m happy to pass it along!

    • I would definitely be interested in checking that recipe out! I’m pretty strict right now but I could see a future time when I would be more open to having occasional gluten-free grains as treats – especially with a sourdough culture involved!

Leave a Reply

