Whole30 and Species Variety, Week 1

  

  
So far I’ve been doing pretty well on the Whole30. I’ve done Whole30 before, but there are lots of recipes that I didn’t try last time, like making my own bone broth, clarified butter, and paleo mayo.

I’ve been eating about 90% paleo for the last few months, and I’ve been eating primarily real food for about two years now, so I haven’t had any major withdrawel symptoms yet. I have been pretty hungry, especially on farm days, so I’ve had to be careful to always pack extra emergency foods whenever I’m out for the day.

I think that the food diversity component that I added to my whole30 is going to be pretty challenging. Bulk cooking and eating lots of leftovers are a big part of how I stick to eating real foods. I makes it kind of difficult to have lots of diversity in my diet when I have so much repetition in dishes. I’m giving it a shot though!


FOOD LOG

So when I did my first whole30 a couple of years ago I found food logs to be incredibly important for inspiration and figuring things out. So I thought I’d keep my own log! For week 1 here’s what I ate:

  
Monday:

  • Breakfast: Onion, pork, sweet potato, & shiitake mushroom egg bake, raspberry ginger kombucha
  • Lunch: Lamb and beef meatballs with tomato sauce, potato wedges, celery sticks/cherry tomatoes with ranch dipping sauce, apple with almond butter (I worked a long farm day and I get really hungry on the farm!)
  • Dinner: Taco salad (lettuce, tomato, onion, avocado, hot peppers, garlic, lime dressing), a handful of cashews, iced nettle chamomile tea

Tuesday:

  • Breakfast: Onion, pork, sweet potato, & shiitake mushroom egg bake, raspberry ginger kombucha
  • Lunch: leftover lamb and beef meatballs with tomato sauce and julienned carrots, an apple with almond butter
  • Dinner: leftover taco salad, cubed melon

  

Wednesday:

  • Breakfast: Onion, pork, sweet potato, & shiitake mushroom egg bake, raspberry ginger kombucha (I’m a creature of habit)
  • Lunch: sardines on a salad of tarragon, lettuce, celery, and a lemon vinaigrette
  • Dinner: leftover lamb and beef meatballs with tomato sauce, a piece of cod, mashed potatoes (with homemade ghee!), a side salad

Thursday:

  • Breakfast: Onion, pork, sweet potato, & shiitake mushroom egg bake, raspberry ginger kombucha
  • Lunch: leftover lamb and beef meatballs with tomato sauce, an apple with almond butter
  • Dinner: Chicken thighs with sweet potato, apple, sunflower seed hash, a side salad

Friday:

  • Breakfast: leftover chicken with hash, raspberry ginger kombucha
  • Lunch: lamb and beef meatballs with tomato sauce and potato wedges, carrots and celery with herbed mayo dip, a homemade larabar for extra energy (farm day!)
  • Dinner: pan-fried salmon, fried plantains, salad

Saturday:

  • Brunch: an omelette with tomatoes, red peppers, portabella mushrooms, and onions
  • Dinner: baked chicken thighs with garlic and thyme, a summer squash fritter, a handful of cashews and coconut flakes, a banana  

  

 Sunday:

  • Breakfast: Onion, pork, sweet potato, & red pepper egg bake, raspberry ginger kombucha, coffee
  • Lunch: sweet potato coconut soup
  • Dinner: Beef stew (potatoes, carrots, celery, portobella mushrooms, bone broth, rosemary, thyme, sage, bay leaf, white pepper), iced chamomile nettle tea


SPECIES COUNT

So far I’m up to 51 species:

  1. Sus scrofa domestica (pork)
  2. Gallus gallus domesticus (chicken/eggs)
  3. Oncorhynchus nerka (sockeye salmon)
  4. Ovis aries (lamb)
  5. Bos taurus (beef)
  6. unknown Sardinops spp./Sardinella spp. (sardines)
  7. Gadus morhua (cod)
  8. Ipomoea batatas (sweet potato)
  9. Solanum tuberosum (red potato)
  10. Musa x paradisiaca (plantain)
  11. Lentinula edodes (shiitake mushrooms)
  12. Agaricus bisporus (portabella mushroom)
  13. Allium cepa (onion)
  14. Persea americana (avocado)
  15. Lactuca sativa (lettuce)
  16. Solanum lycopersicum (tomato)
  17. Capsicum annuum (jalapeno, bell peppers)
  18. Allium sativum (garlic)
  19. Cucurbita pepo (summer squash)
  20. Apium graveolens var. dulce (celery)
  21. Daucus carota ssp. sativus (carrots)
  22. Prunus dulcis (almonds)
  23. Anacardium occidentale (cashew)
  24. Citrus aurantifolia (lime)
  25. Citrus x limon (lemon)
  26. Phoenix dactylifera (dates)
  27. Cucumis melo var. cantalupensis (cantelope)
  28. Malus domestica (apple)
  29. Rubus idaeus (red raspberry)
  30. Musa acuminata (banana)
  31. Thymus vulgaris (thyme)
  32. Foeniculum vulgare (fennel)
  33. Salvia officinalis (sage)
  34. Zingiber officinale (ginger)
  35. Camellia sinensis (black tea)
  36. Urtica diotica (nettle)
  37. Matricaria chamomilla (chamomile)
  38. Ocimum basilicum (basil)
  39. Origanum vulgare (oregano)
  40. Piper nigrum (black pepper)
  41. Artemisia dracunculus (tarragon)
  42. Rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary)
  43. Laurus nobilis (bay leaf)
  44. Olea europaea (olive)
  45. Cocos nucifera (coconut)
  46. Maranta arundinacea (arrowroot)
  47. Helianthus annuus (sunflower)
  48. Coffea arabica (coffee)
  49. Acetobacter xylinum (kombucha bacterium)
  50. Pichia (kombucha yeast)
  51. Zygosaccharomyces (kombucha yeast)

This is definitely a good start, but I think the first week is definitely the easiest. It will be difficult not to just use the same recipes and ingredients during week 2. I’m such a creature of habit!

Anyone else ever try counting the species you eat? Do you do anything to get more variety in your diet?

Leave a Reply

