Whole 30 Wrap-Up: 3 Things I Learned and Species Diversity Tally

pan-seared duck breast

Pan-seared duck breast

I finished my whole 30 a couple of weeks ago, but I have been crazy busy trying to finish things up on the farm for the fall so I am just now getting to posting about it! Overall I felt really great during the 30 days and I would highly recommend the process to anyone interested in healthy eating and whole foods.

I’ve been reintroducing a few foods since the end of the whole 30 and I’ve decided that I am definitely going to keep eating pretty close to whole 30 in the future – just with a little more flexibility for holidays, weddings, etc. I thought I’d put together THE TOP 3 THINGS I LEARNED from this whole 30:

1. Keep it simple

I had two accountability partners for this whole 30 and we all fell into the trap of trying to do too much at first. By the third week of the whole 30 I gave up on cooking recipes more than a couple of times a week and I made super simple meals (think grilled meat, baked sweet potato, and a salad).

2. Cook in bulk

To decrease the amount of time you spend cooking on a given day, make big batches whenever possible! For example, throwing a whole chicken in the slow cooker, grilling extra meat, or cooking a big batch of soup or stew are great ways to stock up! If you need more variety then freeze the extra portions and save them for a future day when you have no time to cook! 

You can also cook up large batches of something plain (like a pan of chicken thighs, for example) and use them for different dishes each day. Top your freshly cooked chicken with homemade tomato sauce and vegetables the first night, then put it on a salad with a simple vinaigrette for lunch the next day, then shred some chicken up for some chicken soup the third meal.

3. Learn how to use herbs & spices

If you know how to use herbs and spices you can add a lot of variety to your diet just by changing up the spices! You can add some sage, fennel seed, and thyme to some ground pork and serve it over potatoes for some wintery comfort food, then you can add some crushed red pepper, chili powder, and oregano to the leftover pork and put it on top of a salad with tomato, avocado, and homemade salsa for a tasty taco salad. Here is a good resource for using herbs and spices if you are new to seasoning!

WHOLE 30 RECIPES

Some of my favorite recipes that I found during that month include:

SPECIES COUNT

I ended up with a total of 97 species. This is definitely less than I was hoping for, but I think I definitely upped the diversity of my diet from my standard habits. I never really realized how much of a creature of habit I am. It’s so easy for me to keep buying the same foods over, never realizing how much of a food rut I’m in. I think this experience will make me more aware of my food choices and habits in the future! Here are the species I added into my diet the last two weeks of the whole 30:

  1. Anas platyhynchos domesticus (duck)
  2. Limanda aspera (flounder)
  3. Thunnus alalunga (tuna)
  4. Meleagris gallopavo (turkey)
  5. Pistacia vera (pistachios)
  6. Vaccinium corymbosum (blueberries)
  7. Ananas comosus (pineapple)
  8. Vitis sp. (grapes)
  9. Brassica oleracea (cabbage, kale, broccoli)
  10. Beta vulgaris (beets)
  11. Cucumis sativus (cucumber)
  12. Solanum melongena (eggplant)
  13. Phaseolus vulgaris (green beans)
  14. Mangifera indica (mango)
  15. Grifola frondosa (maitake mushrooms)
  16. Pleurotus eryngii (king oyster mushrooms)
  17. Salvia hispanica (chia seeds)
  18. Sesamum indicum (tahini)
  19. Curcuma longa (turmeric)
  20. Lavandula angustifolia (lavender)
  21. Ocimum tenuiflorum (holy basil)
  22. Avena sativa (oatstraw)
  23. Passiflora incarnata (passionflower)
  24. Scutellaria galericulata (skullcap)
  25. Echinacea purpurea (echinacea)
  26. Sambucus nigra (elderberry)
  27. Melissa officinalis (lemon balm)
  28. Mentha sachalinensis (mint)

Have any of you tried a whole 30? Do any of you have any of your favorite recipes to share?

Leave a Reply

